Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Change

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. It was established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1988 to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of knowledge in climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic impacts. Its catch-cry is to provide governments with policy-relevant but not policy-prescriptive advice on physical aspects of climate change (through Working Group I), the impacts and adaptation options to climate change (through Working Group II), and technologies, costs and policy options to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions (through Working Group III). The IPCC also provides guidelines and best practice advice on preparing greenhouse gas emissions inventories through its Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories.

The IPCC is an intergovernmental body and focuses on the science-policy interface, i.e. handing over scientific information so that it can underpin government decisions on how to address climate change. It is open to all member countries of the United Nations (UN) and WMO. Currently 195 countries are Members of the IPCC. Reports are written by scientists drawn from around the world based on their expertise and geographical balance.  Governments participate in the review process and the plenary Sessions, where main decisions about the IPCC work programme are taken and reports are accepted, adopted and approved. The IPCC Bureau Members, including the Chair, are also elected during the plenary Sessions.

More information

IPCC Structure

IPCC Reports



Join our news and information mailing list: