Harry Clark



Harry is one of New Zealand’s foremost authorities on agricultural greenhouse gases and their quantification and mitigation. He is recognised internationally for his science leadership in this domain, and is highly respected amongst global science and agribusiness communities.

As Director of the NZAGRC, Harry is responsible for the overall strategic and science direction of the organisation, as well as its day-to-day operation. He ensures that research and capability building projects remain focused and on track to deliver against contracted objectives and timeframes, and that NZAGRC-led programmes, overall, remain aligned to the climate change priorities of the New Zealand Government.

In 2020, Harry was appointed to the newly formed New Zealand Climate Change Commission, which provides independent, evidence-based advice to the Government to help New Zealand transition to a low-emissions and climate-resilient future. This appointment followed service on the Interim Climate Change Committee, where he was heavily involved in the preparation and oversight of reports that established the priorities and frameworks for New Zealand’s climate change response.

Harry also co-chairs the Livestock Research Group of the Global Research Alliance for Agricultural Greenhouse Gases (GRA), providing strategic advice and leadership. He sits on numerous other international and domestic science and advisory panels and has been heavily involved in the work of the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), including contributing to its Fifth Assessment Report and currently contributing to development of its Sixth.

After obtaining his PhD and working for MAFF in the United Kingdom, Harry moved to New Zealand to study the impacts of climate change on pastoral agriculture. His research focused on the quantification and mitigation of enteric methane emissions from grazing animals. He developed the current New Zealand methodology for estimating enteric methane emissions.

He was appointed a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2014, for services to environmental science.