NZAGRC Science Leadership Team

The role of NZAGRC Science Leadership Team (SLT) is to play a key part in the development, implementation and monitoring of all of the Centre’s science programmes and strategies.  It consists of respected New Zealand-based researchers with excellent science credentials accompanied by strong leadership, communication, strategic and inter-personal skills with expertise in those areas of science covered in the NZAGRC Strategy and Science Plan.

Membership is agreed by the Steering Group and includes the NZAGRC Principal Investigators in addition to the NZAGRC Director and NZAGRC Operations Manager.  

Dr Graeme Attwood  AgResearch  
Dr Cecile DeKlein   AgResearch 
Professor Hong Di  Lincoln University 
Dr Robyn Dynes  AgResearch  
Dr Peter Janssen  AgResearch  
Dr David Whitehead   Manaaki Whenua


Science leadership & capability building 

The NZAGRC is committed to providing opportunities for researchers to be trained and work with leading experts in New Zealand.  Some students go on to continue their studies or enter a postdoctoral position under guidance from NZAGRC science leaders, other enter into industry based positions.

The NZAGRC supports more than 50 researchers and students by providing funding via its core research programme or via its student scholarships programme.

Below are profiles of our scientists and past students. 

Congratulations to Dr Jack Pronger

Jack Pronger has completed his PhD defence to become a fully fledged scientist.

Jack submitted his PhD investigating the water use and water use efficiency of mixed pasture swards at Troughton farm. 

Jack has taken up a position at Landcare Research, Hamilton and is working on soil carbon starting with looking at the effects of irrigation in collaboration with Paul Mudge.

Jack was supported by NZAGRC's Student Scholarship Programme and also received funding from Flower Trust, University of Waikato and DairyNZ and was supervised by Louis Schipper, Dave Campbell and Mike Clearwater.


Back to News